Parties Announce Candidates for Election in Clinton

Clinton, CT Town Hall (Credit: Google Map Data, 2021)


TwitterFacebookCopy LinkPrintEmail

CLINTON — The Democratic, Republican, and Green Parties have officially announced their municipal slates for this fall’s local elections, led by nominees for three open Town Council seats. 

The slates are led by candidates for open Town Council seats, for which Democrats endorsed Chris Passante, Paul Gebauer, and Carrie Allen. Republicans put up Tom Hollinger, and the Green Party nominated Eric Bergman. Bergman said he was “happy with the slate,” and glad to have the opportunity to afford voters “some additional options beyond a Democrat or Republican.” 

Republican Town Committee Chair James Staunton called it “the RTC’s best slate in decades,” and said Hollinger’s “leadership and expertise in finance and banking is only outdone by his over 40 years of dedicated volunteer service to the Town of Clinton on Bond Commissions, Board of Finance, etc.” 

Democrats endorsed Erica Gelven and Jack Scherban for the Board of Education, Republicans endorsed Mike Hornyak and Peter Nye, and the Green Party nominated Jason Feeney. For the Police Commission, Democrats endorsed Lynn Hidek and Ed Tessman, Republicans nominated Dom Morrelli, John Harrington, and Wayne Buchanan, and the Green Party put up Phil Sengle. 

“It’s a great team,” said Andrea Reu, chair of the Democratic Town Council of Clinton. “We’re very excited about our full slate of extremely qualified candidates leading into November. It’s a blend of people who are new to politics and many incumbents who’ve been involved in the town for a long time.” 

The Green Party endorsed Tania Abbatello for Planning & Zoning, while Democrats put up Will Benoit, Ellen Dahlgren, and Mike Rossi, along with Jay Mandell as an alternate, and Republicans endorsed Michael Knudsen, Walter Beau Clark, and Mike Florio, with Jim King and Brendan Saunders as alternates. 

For the Zoning Board of Appeals, Republicans put up Dennis Irmscher and alternate Dylan Walter, Greens nominated Hugh Birdsall, and Democrats nominated Laurie Jaffe and Bertram Schmitz, with alternate Tom Shultz. 

On the Board of Assessment Appeals, the nominees are Democrat Alyson Roberts, Green Party Member John Escobales and Republican Joe Alves.