Democrats Endorse Shoemaker, Lampos to Lead Old Lyme Ticket


TwitterFacebookCopy LinkPrintEmail

OLD LYME — In a surprising move, the Old Lyme Democratic Town Committee endorsed Martha Shoemaker, who was elected to the Regional Board of Education in Nov. 2017, to challenge incumbent Republican Timothy Griswold in this November’s election.

Incumbent Selectman Mary Jo Nosal, who some expected to run for first selectman, is instead a candidate for the Zoning Commission with a term beginning in 2022. 

On the slate with Shoemaker is Jim Lampos as candidate for selectman. Since 2019, Lampos has served on the Community Connectivity Grant Committee, which has overseen the installation of sidewalks along Hartford Ave. and Shore Road. In 2019, he ran for the Planning Commission, losing to incumbent chair Harold Thompson, a Republican. In 2016, Lampos and his wife Michaelle Pearson wrote “Revolution in the Lymes: From the New Lights to the Sons of Liberty” that explores the history of the Revolutionary War in the area towns. 

Lampos said he was surprised when he was asked to run and honored to have the opportunity to be part of a longtime government structure. 

“The selectmen as an institution is 100 years older than our country. It’s a venerable democratic institution. So, you know I take that very, very seriously, and I thought deeply about it over the years doing the book. It’s not just a feather in your cap sort of thing — I see it as part of the lineage of our town so I take it very seriously — I’m very deeply honored and I’m really looking forward to it,” he said. 

Lampos said he looked forward to the campaign. 

“I think it’s going be a great time to sort of discuss a lot of issues, hopefully in an enlightening fashion. I think it’s going to be great and I’m really looking forward to running with Martha — she’s terrific.” 

Lampos is also on the ticket for Planning Commission with incumbent Rob McCarthy.

Shoemaker is also running for the Board of Education, sharing the ticket with Alexander Lowry, Jason Kemp and Marisa Calvi-Rogers.  

On the Zoning Commission slate with Nosal is Maria Martinez, who currently serves as an alternate on the commission. 

The Board of Finance slate includes Bradley Mock and incumbent Anna Reiter. Kim Russell Thompson is running to fill a vacancy for a four-year term ending in Nov. 2025. Sarah Michaelson and Katherine Thuma are slated for alternates on the Board of Finance. 

The Zoning Board of Appeals candidates include incumbent vice chair Kip Kotzan, incumbent alternate Russell Fogg and Kathleen Tracy.